About NLKA        Membership        Scope of Practice        Areas of Service        Links        Current Issues        Events

 

About the Competition        Teams & Spectators        Cases        Prizes        Sponsors        Schedule & Fees        FAQ

Format & Cases

Format

  • Round-robin format of 24 teams
  • Four cases of which 5 min. solutions presented by teams are presented in video to atteign the Qualifer Round, and three are live presentations for the Semi-Final and Finals.
  • Cases will cover realistic current cases in practice.
  • Cases will cover diverse fields of study.

 

Rounds

There are four (4) rounds: Making the Qualifiers (one case), Qualifiers (one case) , Semi-Final (one case), Final (one cases).

To make the Qualifiers:

Case #1 will be released on Nov. 12th at 11hET to all registered teams. A team must submit a 5-min. solution presentation for Case #1 in form of a video by Nov. 19th 11hET. On Nov. 23rd 11hET, the 24 selected teams to the Qualifiers will be announced and Case#2 will be released.

Qualifier Round:

A team must submit 5 min. solution material for Case #2 in form of a power-point presentation by Nov 24th 11hET. On Nov. 24th at 19h00ET, the 24 teams will make a live 5 min.presentation of their case solution handed-in earlier, in from of the jury and spectators. Between each team presentation, there will be a 5 min. jury deliberation period. The presentations will be continuous. The order will be done as indicated on the round-robin scale. On Nov. 25th 11hET, the 12 selected teams to the Semi-final will be announced and Case#3 will be released.

Semi-Final Round:

A team must submit 5 min. solution material for Case #3 in form of a slide-deck presentation by Nov 26th 11hET. On Nov. 26th at 19h00ET, the 12 teams will make a live 5 min.presentation of their case solution handed-in earlier, in from of the jury and spectators. Between each team presentation, there will be a 5 min. jury deliberation period. The presentations will be continuous. The order will be done as indicated on the round-robin scale. On Nov. 26th, Case #4 will be released at 20hET, and the 6 selected teams to the Final will be announced at 22h30ET..

Final Round:

A team must submit 5 min. solution material for Case #4 in form of a slide-deck presentation by Nov 27th 11hET. On Nov. 27th at 16hET, the 6 teams will make a live 5 min.presentation of their case solution handed-in earlier, in from of the jury and spectators. Between each team presentation, there will be a 5 min. jury deliberation period. The presentations will be continuous. The order will be done as indicated on the round-robin scale. On Nov. 28th 16hET, the winners will be announced at the Canadian Kinesiology Awards. Prizes will be send to the winners thereafter.

 

Case Release

The four (4) cases will be released on the Kin Can Competition website, under the Cases tab, according to the schedule:

  • Nov 12th 11ET: Case #1
  • Nov. 23rd 11ET: Case #2
  • Nov. 25th 11ET: Case #3
  • Nov. 26th 20hET: Case #4

Each team is responsible for visiting the website in due time to get each case details.

 

Preparing Case-Solution

The 3-student-team must be mentored by a faculty professor. For each case, students must consult with a researcher and a practising kinesiologists as resource persons. Students may consult different researchers or pracitizing kinesiologists for each case. It is mandatory to register one researcher and one practising kinesiologist with the team. In each presentation, the student must mention the names of their resource persons.

Student must resolve the case on their own. It is prohibited to have the case resolve by someone else or by the mentor or the resource persons. They are there to assist in your resolution process, direct you in the right path and give you references.

It is suggested to read twice the case before entertaining any resolution path. 

The following sections present suggestions for how the team should prepare for all of the components of the case from the preparation.

a) How to read a case

When the team first receives the case they should read the first and last paragraph of the case to help determine the problem being presented. Knowing the problem while reading will allow team members to filter out the information they need in order to determine the best solution.
While reading, each team member should make note of key issues within the case, along with noting key pieces of information that will help them with their portion of the case.

b) How to discuss a case

The discussion must begin immediately after the team has completed reading the case. One person should be designated as the note taker and it will be their job to put all ideas that are mentioned on display (whiteboard, paper, etc). It is important to take down all ideas as this will help to narrow down the correct problem, solution, and implementation. Initially, brainstorming is needed for approximately 10 minutes, after that point the team will need to begin filtering ideas and making a decision as to what the problem is and what are the possible solutions.
During the discussion one person should be designated as the timekeeper to ensure that the team does not spend too much time on one topic.

c) How to divide the work

Each team member should have a role on the team. The natural roles that should emerge will follow how the cases are judged. These include:

1. Introduction, key issues/ problem statement
2. Analysis
3. Alternatives and recommendation
4. Implementation
5. Other considerations, and conclusion

d) How to prepare your presentation

Practice makes best. Ensure your slide deck is in order. Decide who will present. Time yourself presenting. 

 

Case-Solution Submission

To submit solution for Case #1:

  • Teams are expected to prepare a 5-minute presentation in the form of a video presentation that highlights and summarizes their solution to the proposed issue. Ensure that the video is of adequate quality and that any necessary COVID precautions are adhered to.
  • It is highly recommended that each team member speak for a relatively equal time during the presentation. Participation in the video, while not mandatory, is very highly encouraged.
  • A slide-deck presentation should be used to complement your presentation.
  • When submitting the video, do note that higher-quality videos may take longer to upload to YouTube; therefore, it is suggested you plan for this accordingly to respect deadlines.
  • Ensure that the video is unlisted on YouTube. It is recommended that the name of the team and its members be added in the description of the uploaded video.
  • Submissions should be received as an email to info@cka.ca including the name of your team, the case number, the youtube link to your video and, as an attachment, all material you wish to submit (e.g., slide deck).

To submit solution for Case #2, #3, #4:

  • Teams are expected to prepare a 5-minute presentation in the form of a slide-deck presentation that highlights and summarizes their solution to the proposed issue. If you embed a video is of adequate quality and that any necessary COVID precautions are adhered to.
  • It is highly recommended that each team member speak for a relatively equal time during the presentation. Participation, while not mandatory, is very highly encouraged.
  • A slide-deck presentation should be used to complement your presentation.
  • When submitting the presentation, do note that it may take longer to upload to a dropbox; therefore, it is suggested you plan for this accordingly to respect deadlines.
  • Ensure that the presentation is available to be dowloaded by the CKA (info@cka.ca). Do not share your file with info@cka.ca. Please use a dropbox.
  • It is must be titled with the name of the team and the case number. 
  • Submissions should be received as an email to info@cka.ca including the name of your team, the case number, the dropbox link to your video and, as an attachment, all material you wish to submit (e.g., slide deck).+
  • The time sent indicated on the email must be within the deadline for submission. At 11hET, the material may no longer be changed in the dropbox. The CKA will download material starting at 11hET.

NOTE: Case solutions may be submitted in English or French. However, online presentations will be in English with simultaneous translation into French.

Case Presentations

To present:

  1. Each team will have 5 minutes maximum to present its solution as per material received by the deadline. No extra material will be allowed. No exrta time will be allowed. Microphones may be muted by host if presentation is too long.
  2. The team’s solution must be presented by a student on the team.
  3. The jury may ask questions to be answered immediately by one of the student on the team.
  4. Beware of language and body language. Presentation must be done as in the context of a client consultation; thus, in professionalism, ethics, respect.
  5. All student-team members must be present at the time of presentation. Presence of mentor and resource persons is optional.
  6. All student-team members are to connect via the zoom details received in the registration confirmaton email. Each member will have to register on the zoom platform in days prior to the first presentation as per insctructions in the email.

 

Passing to Another Round & Judging

Judging criteria will be drafted by the writer of each case, and additional regular criteria will be added, such as respect of presentation time, problem-solving ability, clarity of speech, etc. The list of criteria will be included in each case.

 

Results per Round

This round-robin ladder will be updated after each round.

 

CASES

 CASE #1

 Release Date:
Nov. 12th 11hET
 Submission Deadline:
Nov. 19th 11hET

   DOWLOAD THE CASE   

 CASE #2

 Release Date:
Nov. 23th 11hET
 Submission Deadline:
Nov. 24th 11hET

   DOWLOAD THE CASE   

 CASE #3

 Release Date:
Nov. 25th 11hET
 Submission Deadline:
Nov. 26th 11hET

   DOWLOAD THE CASE   

CASE #4

 Release Date:
Nov. 26th 20hET
 Submission Deadline:
Nov. 27th 11hET

   DOWLOAD THE CASE

About NLKA        Membership        Scope of Practice        Areas of Service        Links        Current Issues        Events

 

À propos       Équipes & Spectateurs        Cas        Sponsors        Prix à gagner        Horaire & Frais        Q&R

Format et cas

Format

  • Format Round-robin de 24 équipes
  • Quatre cas dont les solutions de 5 min. présentées par les équipes sont présentées en vidéo pour accéder au tour de qualification, et trois sont des présentations en direct pour la demi-finale et la finale.
  • Les cas couvriront des cas actuels réalistes dans la pratique.
  • Les cas couvriront divers domaines d'étude.


Rondes

Il y a quatre (4) tours : Pour atteindre les Qualifications (un cas), Qualifications (un cas), Demi-finale (un cas), Finale (un cas).

Pour atteindre les qualifications :

Le cas n°1 sera diffusé le 12 novembre à 11hET à toutes les équipes inscrites. Une équipe doit soumettre une présentation de solution de 5 minutes pour le cas n°1 sous la forme d'une vidéo avant le 19 novembre à 11hET. Le 23 novembre à 11hET, les 24 équipes sélectionnées pour les qualifications seront annoncées et le cas n°2 sera publié.

Tour de qualification :

Une équipe doit soumettre une solution de 5 minutes pour le cas n°2 sous la forme d'une présentation power-point avant le 24 novembre à 11hET. Le 24 novembre à 19h00ET, les 24 équipes feront une présentation en direct de 5 minutes de leur solution de cas remise précédemment, devant le jury et les spectateurs. Entre chaque présentation d'équipe, il y aura une période de délibération du jury de 5 minutes. Les présentations seront continues. L'ordre de passage se fera comme indiqué sur le barème du round-robin. Le 25 novembre à 11hET, les 12 équipes sélectionnées pour la demi-finale seront annoncées et le cas n°3 sera publié.

Demi-finale :

Une équipe doit soumettre une solution de 5 minutes pour le cas n°3 sous la forme d'une présentation de type "slide-deck" avant le 26 novembre à 11hET. Le 26 novembre à 19h00ET, les 12 équipes feront une présentation en direct de 5 minutes de leur solution de cas remise plus tôt, devant le jury et les spectateurs. Entre chaque présentation d'équipe, il y aura une période de délibération du jury de 5 minutes. Les présentations seront continues. L'ordre se fera comme indiqué sur l'échelle de rotation. Le 26 novembre, le cas n°4 sera publié à 20hET, et les 6 équipes sélectionnées pour la finale seront annoncées à 22h30ET.

Finale :

Une équipe doit soumettre une solution de 5 minutes pour le cas n°4 sous la forme d'une présentation de type "slide-deck" avant le 27 novembre à 11hET. Le 27 novembre à 16hET, les 6 équipes feront une présentation en direct de 5 minutes de leur solution de cas remise plus tôt, devant le jury et les spectateurs. Entre chaque présentation d'équipe, il y aura une période de délibération du jury de 5 minutes. Les présentations seront continues. L'ordre de passage se fera comme indiqué sur le barème du round-robin. Le 28 novembre 16hET, les gagnants seront annoncés lors de la remise des Prix canadiens de kinésiologie. Les prix seront envoyés aux gagnants par la suite.

 

DIFFUSION DES CAS

Les quatre (4) cas seront publiés sur le site web du concours Kin Can, sous l'onglet Cas, selon le calendrier suivant :

12 novembre 11ET : Cas #1
23 nov. 11ET : Cas #2
25 novembre 11ET : Cas #3
26 novembre 20hET : Cas #4
Chaque équipe est responsable de visiter le site web en temps voulu pour obtenir les détails de chaque cas.

 

PRÉPARATION DE LA SOLUTION DU CAS

L'équipe de 3 étudiants doit être encadrée par un professeur de la faculté. Pour chaque cas, les étudiants doivent consulter un chercheur et un kinésiologue en exercice comme personnes ressources. Les étudiants peuvent consulter différents chercheurs ou kinésiologues pratiquants pour chaque cas. Il est obligatoire d'inscrire un chercheur et un kinésiologue praticien dans l'équipe. Dans chaque présentation, l'étudiant doit mentionner les noms de ses personnes ressources.

L'étudiant doit résoudre le cas par lui-même. Il est interdit de faire résoudre le cas par quelqu'un d'autre ou par le mentor ou les personnes ressources. Ils sont là pour vous aider dans votre processus de résolution, vous orienter dans le bon chemin et vous donner des références.

Il est suggéré de lire deux fois le cas avant de s'engager dans une quelconque voie de résolution. 

Les sections suivantes présentent des suggestions sur la façon dont l'équipe devrait se préparer à toutes les composantes du cas à partir de la préparation.

a) Comment lire un cas

Lorsque l'équipe reçoit le cas pour la première fois, elle devrait lire le premier et le dernier paragraphe du cas pour l'aider à déterminer le problème présenté. Le fait de connaître le problème pendant la lecture permettra aux membres de l'équipe de filtrer les informations dont ils ont besoin pour déterminer la meilleure solution.
Pendant la lecture, chaque membre de l'équipe doit noter les questions clés du cas, ainsi que les éléments d'information clés qui l'aideront dans sa partie du cas.

b) Comment discuter d'un cas

La discussion doit commencer immédiatement après que l'équipe a terminé la lecture du cas. Une personne doit être désignée comme preneur de notes et il lui incombera de mettre toutes les idées mentionnées sur un support (tableau blanc, papier, etc.). Il est important de noter toutes les idées, car cela permettra d'affiner le problème, la solution et la mise en œuvre. Au départ, le brainstorming doit durer environ 10 minutes, après quoi l'équipe devra commencer à filtrer les idées et à prendre une décision quant à la nature du problème et aux solutions possibles.
Pendant la discussion, une personne doit être désignée comme chronométreur afin de s'assurer que l'équipe ne passe pas trop de temps sur un seul sujet.

c) Comment répartir le travail

Chaque membre de l'équipe doit avoir un rôle au sein de l'équipe. Les rôles naturels qui devraient émerger dépendront de la façon dont les cas sont jugés. Il s'agit notamment de :

1. Introduction, questions clés/énoncé du problème
2. Analyse
3. Alternatives et recommandations
4. Mise en œuvre
5. Autres considérations, et conclusion

d) Comment préparer votre présentation

C'est en forgeant qu'on devient forgeron. Assurez-vous que votre jeu de diapositives est en ordre. Décidez qui fera la présentation. Chronométrez votre présentation. 

 

SOUMISSION DE LA SOLUTION DU CAS

Soumettre la solution pour le cas n°1 :

  • Les équipes doivent préparer une présentation de 5 minutes sous forme de vidéo qui met en évidence et résume leur solution au problème proposé. Assurez-vous que la vidéo est de qualité adéquate et que toutes les précautions nécessaires au COVID sont respectées.
  • Il est fortement recommandé que chaque membre de l'équipe parle pendant un temps relativement égal au cours de la présentation. La participation à la vidéo, bien que non obligatoire, est très fortement encouragée.
  • Une présentation sous forme de diapositives devrait être utilisée pour compléter votre présentation.
  • Lors de la soumission de la vidéo, notez que les vidéos de haute qualité peuvent prendre plus de temps à être téléchargées sur YouTube ; il est donc suggéré de prévoir cela en conséquence pour respecter les délais.
  • Assurez-vous que la vidéo n'est pas répertoriée sur YouTube. Il est recommandé d'ajouter le nom de l'équipe et de ses membres dans la description de la vidéo téléchargée.
  • Les soumissions doivent être reçues sous la forme d'un courriel à info@cka.ca comprenant le nom de votre équipe, le numéro du cas, le lien YouTube vers votre vidéo et, en pièce jointe, tout le matériel que vous souhaitez soumettre (par exemple, des diapositives).

Pour soumettre une solution pour les cas #2, #3, #4 :

  • Les équipes doivent préparer une présentation de 5 minutes sous la forme d'un diaporama qui met en évidence et résume leur solution au problème proposé. Si vous intégrez une vidéo, assurez-vous qu'elle est de qualité adéquate et que toutes les précautions nécessaires au COVID sont respectées.
  • Il est fortement recommandé que chaque membre de l'équipe parle pendant un temps relativement égal au cours de la présentation. La participation, bien que non obligatoire, est très fortement encouragée.
  • Une présentation sous forme de diapositives devrait être utilisée pour compléter votre présentation.
  • Lorsque vous soumettez la présentation, notez qu'elle peut prendre plus de temps à télécharger sur une boîte de dépôt ; il est donc suggéré de planifier cela en conséquence pour respecter les délais.
  • Assurez-vous que la présentation est disponible pour être téléchargée par le CKA (info@cka.ca). Ne partagez pas votre fichier avec info@cka.ca. Veuillez utiliser une dropbox.
  • Il doit être intitulé avec le nom de l'équipe et le numéro du dossier. 
  • Les soumissions doivent être reçues sous forme d'un courriel à info@cka.ca comprenant le nom de votre équipe, le numéro de cas, le lien dropbox vers votre vidéo et, en pièce jointe, tout le matériel que vous souhaitez soumettre (par exemple, un diaporama).+
  • L'heure d'envoi indiquée dans l'e-mail doit être comprise dans le délai de soumission. A 11hET, le matériel ne pourra plus être modifié dans la dropbox. Le CKA téléchargera le matériel à partir de 11hET.

NOTE: Les solutions de cas peuvent être soumies en anglais ou en français. Toutefois les présentations enligne se dérouleront en anglais avec traduction simultanée en français.

PRÉSENTATIONS DE CAS

Pour présenter :

  1. Chaque équipe aura 5 minutes maximum pour présenter sa solution selon le matériel reçu avant la date limite. Aucun matériel supplémentaire ne sera autorisé. Aucun temps mort ne sera autorisé. Les microphones peuvent être coupés par l'hôte si la présentation est trop longue.
  2. La solution de l'équipe doit être présentée par un étudiant de l'équipe.
  3. Le jury peut poser des questions auxquelles l'un des étudiants de l'équipe doit répondre immédiatement.
  4. Attention au langage et à la gestuelle. La présentation doit se faire comme dans le cadre d'une consultation client ; donc, dans le professionnalisme, l'éthique, le respect.
  5. Tous les étudiants membres de l'équipe doivent être présents au moment de la présentation. La présence du mentor et des personnes ressources est facultative.
  6. Tous les membres de l'équipe d'étudiants doivent se connecter via les détails du zoom reçus dans l'email de confirmation d'inscription. Chaque membre devra s'inscrire sur la plateforme zoom dans les jours précédant la première présentation, conformément aux instructions contenues dans l'e-mail.
     

PASSAGE A UN AUTRE TOUR ET JURY

Les critères de jury seront rédigés par l'auteur de chaque cas, et des critères supplémentaires réguliers seront ajoutés, tels que le respect du temps de présentation, la capacité de résolution de problèmes, la clarté du discours, etc. La liste des critères sera incluse dans chaque cas.

 

RÉSULTATS PAR TOUR

Ce classement par tour sera mis à jour après chaque tour.

 

CAS

 CAS #1

 Date de diffusion:
12 nov. 11hHE
 Échéance de soumission:
19 nov. 11hHE

   Télécharger le cas  

 CAS #2

 Date de diffusion:
23 nov. 11hHE
Échéance de soumission:
24 nov. 11hHE

   Télécharger le cas  

 CAS #3

 Date de diffusion:
25 nov. 11hHE
 Échéance de soumission:
26 nov. 11hHE

   Télécharger le cas  

CAS #4

 Date de diffusion:
26 nov. 20hHE
 Échéance de soumission:
27 nov. 11hHE

   Télécharger le cas