Site de démonstration de la plateforme memboGo avec l'application Site Web

How do I differentiate between the CKA and Other associations and certifications?

Comparing Associations

Updated: 2020-09-02

The Canadian Kinesiology Alliance (CKA) and the provincial kinesiology associations (PKAs) understand how confusing it is to try to differentiate between the CKA and other associations.

In this document, the CKA attempts to explain the difference between being a Kinesiologist (with the CKA) and having a membership in another exercise-based association. In the links below we have provided comparisons between associations (e.g., in job title, scope of practice, prerequisites and eligibility, membership and dues, certifications, training, insurance, and benefits).


IMPORTANT NOTE
This information is provided for comparison purposes only and was gathered from each organization's website or documents. Should you wish more details, please contact the individual organizations.


  1. CKA – Canadian Kinesiology Alliance
  2. CSEP – Canadian Society for Exercise Physiology
  3. CATA – Canadian Athletic Therapists Association
    (Click here to see Grid no. 1: Comparing CKA / CSEP / CATA)
  1. ACE – Association of Canadian Ergonomists
  2. CAOT – Canadian Association of Occupational Therapists
  3. NSCA – National Strength and Conditioning Association 
    (Click here to see Grid no. 2: Comparing ACE / CAOT / NSCA)

 

Other associations that represent professions similar to kinesiology include the ACSM, EIMC, and ACE. We invite you to read more by visiting their websites: ACSM – American College of Sports Medicine, EIMC – Exercise is Medicine Canada, ACE – American Council on Exercise.

FAQ

In reading the different grids, you will find answers to frequently asked questions:

  • How does the CKA compare with other organizations?
  • If I am a Kinesiologist with the CKA, do I need to maintain my certifications with other associations? Do I need to pay two membership fees, insurance fees, etc.?
  • What is the difference in the scope of practice between the professions? Why does the scope of one association not cover the entire scope of kinesiology?
  • What is the difference in professional liability insurance (PLI) between associations? Does the CKA/PKA insurance fully cover me?
  • As a CKA Kinesiologist, can I work with the same clientele as members of other associations? Will my professional status be lost if I do not renew my certification?
  • What are the benefits of becoming a member of the CKA/PKA?

Similarities between Kinesiologists and exercise physiologists under CSEP as per recognition by EIMC: 
scope of practice and EIMC CEP designation

Differences between Professional Insurance Coverage offered by CKA/PROLINK, CSEP, CATA, and Kinsurance.ca

In Summary

Kinesiologists are movement specialists who apply exercise and movement science to promote health and well-being; prevent, manage, and rehabilitate injuries; treat illness and chronic disease; restore function; and optimize human performance in the workplace, clinical settings, sport, and fitness. Kinesiologists are regulated in the province of Ontario and follow their local legislative guidelines in other provinces. Kinesiology is a profession that includes a wide range of practice including exercise physiology and athletic therapy. Kins work with clients of all ages, with or without health problems, in a variety of environments.

Exercise physiologists are movement specialists (like Kinesiologists) who have a certification in the specific field of practice called exercise physiology and thus have chosen to work primarily in that field. They perform assessments/evaluations, prescribe conditioning exercise, provide exercise supervision/monitoring, and perform coaching, healthy lifestyle education, and outcome evaluation for “apparently healthy” individuals and/or populations with medical conditions, functional limitations, and disabilities. They work with a variety of clients including (but not limited to) high-performance athletes and patients in research settings, hospitals, clinics, etc.

Athletic therapists are movement specialists (like Kinesiologists) who have a certification in the specific field of practice called athletic therapy and thus have chosen to work primarily with athletes. Athletic therapists have additional training in sideline care, acute injury management, and hands-on modalities (injury assessment, emergency life support, recognition and management of acute traumatic head and spinal injuries, first aid, and preparation for subsequent health care delivery); are recognized sport first responders; and are highly trained in clinical management of musculoskeletal injuries. They often work with sports teams.

Best practice would be that a client is first seen by a Kinesiologist who will, if necessary, refer to an exercise physiologist, athletic therapist, occupational therapist, or ergonomist.

Because kinesiology is now well represented in each province, the CKA is looking forward to working with all national health organizations (NHOs) and PKAs to raise awareness of the profession of kinesiology and kinesiology services and also provide the best care to the Canadian public.

 

What are the benefits of becoming a member of the CKA? What other services does the CKA offer me?

Kinesiology is a young profession, yet maturing quickly. The Canadian Kinesiology Alliance brings increased recognition and awareness to kinesiology and the sciences of human movement; advocates on behalf of our partners and stakeholders; and supports common standards and professionalism. Nationally, the Canadian Kinesiology Alliance is the strong and united voice of Kinesiologists. On a national level, the CKA / ACK represents ten (10) provincial kinesiology associations (PKAs) that are member associations and over 5,000 affiliated Kinesiologists.

When joining the CKA/PKAs, Kinesiologists benefit from the following:

  • Access to opportunities for networking and social capital
  • Access to promotional event material for the National Kin Week held annually in November and the National Health and Fitness Day held annually in June, as well as Bell Let’s Talk for mental health
  • Access to preferred rates from partners for industry-leading professional insurance products (including errors and omissions and commercial general liability), home and auto insurance, and continuing education opportunities (online seminars and printed resources)
  • The right to issue receipts to clients so they can be reimbursed through their health benefit plans; it is important to note that only CKA/PKA Kinesiologists who are members in good standing can issue receipts for the purpose of reimbursement
  • An enhanced member management system and website that allows you to register for services online, view your profile, view your subscription history, independently manage your continuing education credits, and make any changes to your demographic information
  • A listing in the online “Find-a-Kin” directory so Canadians can locate you and contact you, thus increasing your client base
  • Representation in events that promote the profession to human resource managers of health benefit plans and insurance companies to ensure kinesiology services are reimbursed to your clients

Finally, your membership demonstrates your professionalism to your colleagues, other health care providers and lawmakers, and especially your clients. By renewing your membership each year and taking advantage of our many services, you collectively contribute to the success and recognition of your profession.

 


 

Without prejudice               Updated : 2020-09-02
Disclosure: The practice of kinesiology varies from one province to another. The information in this document may differ and not correspond with the provincial legislation. The main purpose of this document is to present the current portrait of kinesiology (definitions, fields of practice, acts, etc.) across Canada, with information regarding resources in the various fields of kinesiology, practical tools, the extent of its scope of practice, and other potentially useful information. This document is in perpetual revision as per the evolution of the practice of kinesiology in Canada. The CKA / ACK will not be held responsible for any consequences or damages that may occur as a result of the use, misuse, misinterpretation, or abuse of the information found on its website. We emphasize that the aim of this document is to help guide you. Should anyone require guidance in interpreting any of the provided information, they should seek the advice of their provincial kinesiology association.

Site de démonstration de la plateforme memboGo avec l'application Site Web

Comment différencier l'ACK et la kinésiologie des autres associations et des certifications?

Comparaison d'associations

Mise à jour: 2020-09-02

 

L'Alliance canadienne de kinésiologie (ACK) et les associations provinciales de kinésiologie (APKs) comprennent à quel point essayer de différencier les services de kinésiologie, l'ACK et les autres associations peut être déconcertant.

Dans ce document, l'ACK tente d'expliquer les différences dans la dénomination, le champ de pratique, le domaine de pratique de la kinésiologie, les actes sanctionnés ou non-sanctionnés, les conditions préalables et l'admissibilité, l'adhésion et les cotisations, les certifications, la formation, les assurances et les avantages de chaque association.

Entre autres:

  1. ACK – Alliance canadienne de kinésiologie / Kinésiologues
  2. SCPE – Société canadienne de physiologie de l’exercice / Physiologues de l’exercice
  3. ACTS – Association canadienne des thérapeutes sportifs – Thérapeutes sportifs
    (Consulter ici la grille de comparaison 1 – ACK / SCPE / ACTS)
  1. ACE – Association canadienne d’ergonomie -  Ergonome certifié
  2. CAOT/ACET – Association canadienne des ergothérapeutes – Ergothérapeute
  3. NSCA - National Strength and Conditioning Association
    (Consulter ici la grille de comparaison 2- ACE / CAOT-ACET / NSCA)

Il existe de nombreuses autres associations liées à des domaines similaires à la kinésiologie. Nous vous invitons à en savoir plus en visitant leur site Web: ACSM  - American College of Sports Medicine, EIMC - Exercise is Medicine Canada, ACE - American Council on Exercise.

 

Q&R

En lisant les différentes grilles, vous trouverez peut-être des réponses aux questions fréquemment posées:

• Comment comparer le CKA aux autres organisations?

• Si je suis kinésiologue au CKA, dois-je conserver mes certifications auprès d'autres associations? Dois-je payer une double contribution: frais d'adhésion, frais d'assurance, etc.?

• Quelle est la différence en ce qui concerne le champ de pratique? Pourquoi le champ d'application d'une association ne couvre-t-il pas aussi tout le champ d'application de la kinésiologie?

• Quelle est la différence quant à l’assurance responsabilité civile professionnelle (PLI)? L'assurance CKA / PKA couvre-t-elle entièrement?

• En tant que kinésiologue CKA, puis-je travailler avec la même clientèle que les membres d'autres associations? Ma crédibilité et mon jugement professionnels seront-ils compromis si je ne renouvelle pas ma certification?

• Quels sont les avantages de devenir membre de la CKA / PKA? Quels autres services me procurent le CKA / PKA?

 

En résumé

Les kinésiologues sont des spécialistes du mouvement opérant sous l’égide d'une profession législative afin de couvrir un large éventail de domaines de pratique, y compris la physiologie de l'exercice et la thérapie du sport. Les Kins appliquent la science de l'exercice et du mouvement pour promouvoir la santé et le bien-être; prévenir, gérer et réhabiliter les blessures; traiter les maladies usuelles et les maladies chroniques; restaurer la fonction et optimiser les performances humaines sur le lieu de travail, les milieux cliniques, le sport et la forme physique. Les Kins travaillent avec de nombreux clients de tous âges, ayant ou non des problèmes de santé, dans de nombreux environnements.

Les physiologistes de l'exercice, comme les kinésiologues, sont des spécialistes du mouvement qui ont une certification dans un domaine de pratique spécifique appelé « physiologie de l'exercice » et qui ont donc choisi d’y travailler principalement. Ils effectuent des évaluations, prescrivent des exercices de conditionnement, fournissent une supervision / un suivi de l'exercice, un encadrement, une éducation à un mode de vie sain et une évaluation des résultats pour les personnes étant « apparemment en bonne santé » et / ou les populations souffrant de problèmes de santé, de limitations fonctionnelles ou de handicaps. Ils travaillent avec des athlètes et des patients de haut niveau dans des milieux de recherche, des hôpitaux, des cliniques, etc.

Les thérapeutes sportifs, comme les kinésiologues, sont des spécialistes du mouvement qui ont une certification dans un domaine de pratique spécifique appelé « thérapie du sport » et ont donc choisi d’y travailler principalement. Les thérapeutes du sport ont une formation supplémentaire sur les modalités pratiques (évaluation des blessures, maintien de la vie d'urgence, reconnaissance et prise en charge des traumatismes crâniens aigus à la tête et à la colonne vertébrale, premiers soins et préparation à la prestation de soins de santé ultérieurs), les soins secondaires et la gestion des blessures aiguës; ils sont reconnus comme étant « Premiers Répondants du sport » et sont hautement qualifiés dans la gestion clinique des blessures musculo-squelettiques. Ils travaillent souvent avec des équipes sportives.

La meilleure pratique serait que le client soit d'abord reçu en consultation par un kinésiologue qui, au besoin, le référerait à un physiologiste de l'exercice, à un thérapeute du sport, à un ergothérapeute ou ergonome.

La kinésiologie étant désormais bien représentée dans chaque province et faisant partie des décideurs de l’ACK, nous collaborons avec toutes les organisations nationales de santé (NHO) et les APKs pour faire connaître la profession de kinésiologue, les services de kinésiologie et travaillons ensemble afin de donner les meilleurs soins aux clients.

 

Avantages de devenir membre de l’ACK et les APKs? Quels autres services offrent l’ACK et les APKs?

La kinésiologie est une jeune profession jeune qui mature rapidement néanmoins. L'Alliance canadienne de kinésiologie s'emploie à accroître la reconnaissance et la sensibilisation à la kinésiologie et aux sciences du mouvement humain, à défendre les intérêts de nos partenaires et intervenants et à soutenir des normes et un professionnalisme communs. À l'échelle nationale, l'Alliance canadienne de kinésiologie est la voix forte et unie des kinésiologues. Au niveau national, l’ACK représente dix (10) associations provinciales de kinésiologie (APK) en tant qu’associations membres et plus de 4200 kinésiologues affiliés.

En rejoignant l’ACK et les APKs, les kinésiologues bénéficient:

• D’un accès aux opportunités de réseautage et de capital social;

• D’un accès au matériel promotionnel pour les évènements suivants : la « Semaine nationale de la famille » qui a lieu chaque année en novembre, la « Journée nationale de la santé et de la forme physique » qui a lieu chaque année en juin et « Bell Parlons-en pour la santé mentale »;

• De l’accès à des tarifs préférentiels de partenaires pour les produits d'assurance professionnelle de pointe (y compris les erreurs et omissions et la responsabilité civile commerciale), les possibilités de formation continue (séminaires en ligne et ressources imprimées) ou des forfaits d'assurance habitation et automobile;

• Du droit d'émettre des reçus aux clients à des fins de remboursement par le biais de leurs régimes de soins de santé. L’ACK et les APKs s'engagent à investir dans le remboursement de nos services par l'intermédiaire des compagnies d'assurance. Il est important de préciser que seuls les kinésiologues membres en règle de l’ACK et des APKs peuvent remettre des reçus à leurs clients à des fins de remboursement de prestations;

• De plus, afin de fournir un meilleur service client, l’ACK et les APKs ont amélioré leur système de gestion des membres et leurs sites Web pour fournir des services en ligne d'inscription, voir son profil et son historique d'abonnement, gérer indépendamment les crédits de formation continue et faire toute modification quant aux informations démographiques;

• De l’inscription dans un annuaire en ligne « Trouvez un Kin » pour que les Canadiens puissent vous localiser et vous contacter ce qui augmente ainsi la clientèle.

• D’être représenté dans des événements de promotion de la profession auprès des responsables des ressources humaines des régimes de prévoyance et des compagnies d'assurance pour assurer le remboursement des services de kinésiologie aux clients.

Enfin, votre adhésion est un gage de professionnalisme vis-à-vis de vos collègues, des autres prestataires de soins et des législateurs et, en particulier, pour vos clients. En renouvelant votre adhésion chaque année et en profitant des nombreux services, vous contribuez collectivement au succès et à la reconnaissance de votre profession.

La kinésiologie étant désormais bien représentée dans chaque province et faisant partie des décideurs de l’ACK, nous sommes impatients de travailler avec toutes les organisations nationales de santé (NHO) et les APKs pour faire connaître la profession, les services des kinésiologues et travailler ensemble pour apporter les meilleurs soins aux clients.


Sans préjudices 
Divulgation:
 Actuellement, l'exercice de la kinésiologie varie d'une province à l'autre. Les informations contenues dans ce document peuvent être différentes et ne pas correspondre à la législation provinciale. L'objectif principal de ce document est de présenter le portrait actuel de la kinésiologie (définitions, domaines de pratique, actes, etc.) à travers le Canada, avec des informations sur les ressources dans les différents domaines de la kinésiologie, les outils pratiques, l'étendue de son champ de pratique et d'autres documents potentiellement utiles. Ce document est en perpétuelle révision en fonction de l'évolution de la pratique de la kinésiologie au Canada. L’ACK n’est pas tenue responsable des conséquences ou dommages pouvant survenir à la suite de l'utilisation, d’un usage inapproprié, d’une interprétation erronée ou de l'abus des informations présentes sur son site Web. Nous soulignons que le but de ce document est de vous guider. En cas de besoin de conseils quant à l’interprétation de l'une des informations fournies, demander l'avis de son association provinciale de kinésiologie.