Speakers

Keynote Speaker

Sponsored by

In collaboration with

Bruce Pinel, PhD
Mental Performance Consultant
Dr. Bruce Pinel

 

Optimize Yourself to Optimize Your Practice: 
Mental Performance for Health & Wellness

Description

If you want to give the best of yourself to clients, then proactively implementing self-investment strategies to optimize your health & wellness will ensure the best of you is available.  In this webinar participants will be introduced to specific concepts and strategies for enhancing their health & wellness while balancing the demands and challenges of being a successful practitioner.

Consistent with the theme of the conference, this presentation will provide practitioners with practical concepts and strategies around mental performance for health & wellness.  The Mental Health Continuum model will be used to connect the dots between practitioner health & wellness and the specific concepts and strategies presented in this session. Dr. Pinel has been developing and presenting content in this area for health-care clinics, practitioners, and clients for many years.  He will engage with the CKA participants and share pragmatic and relevant concepts and strategies to foster enhanced health & wellness outcomes for themselves and their clients

Short Bio

Bruce Pinel, Ph.D., M.A., B.A. (Honours).  Dr. Pinel has been working in the performance, health, and wellness fields as a practitioner since 2001, and is an adjunct professor at the University of Victoria (School of Exercise Science, Physical & Health Education).  He’s an inspiring, innovative, and leading practitioner and he regularly consults and presents at various organizations and conferences in the health care and performance fields relating to his expertise in performance, injury rehabilitation, health & wellness, stress & adversity management, business leadership, and building resiliency. Dr. Pinel has also worked with a range of athletes and teams at the world-class level at major international events, including the Olympics, Paralympics, Pan American Games, Commonwealth Games, and numerous World Championships (has worked with over 450 medalists to date).  Check out Dr. Pinel’s website at www.drbrucepinel.ca for more information

 


In collaboration with

 

Dr. Ryan D’Arcy
President and Chief Scientific Officer
HealthTech Connex

 

Neurocatch And Vital Cognitive Function

Description

The NeuroCatch Platform provides an objective neuro-physiological evaluation of cognitive brain function. It is portable, rapid, and easy to use. Developed from over 25 years of leading-edge science in brain vital signs, the NeuroCatch Platform is deployed across leading clinical and research centers for the evaluation of cognitive functions and monitoring of treatment efficacy.

Short Bio

Dr. Ryan C.N. D’Arcy, Eng.L., is a neuroscientist and entrepreneur. He is the co-founder, President, and Chief Scientific Officer of HealthTech Connex. He also holds Professorship appointments at Simon Fraser University and the University of British Columbia, where he serves as a BC Leadership Chair in neuroimaging and neurotechnology. He has published more than 256 academic works, attracted more than $85 Million in competitive research and innovation funding, and been recognized through numerous awards and distinctions (e.g., Canada's Public Service Award of Excellence and named as a KickAss Canadian). Dr. D'Arcy is a 3X TEDx speaker, who speaks frequently on brain health innovations around the world.

 


A collaboration of

Joanne Pawluk, PhD, BScOT
Research Scientist
University of Alberta

 

What is Motivational Interviewing?

Description

Motivational Interviewing (MI) is an evidence-based, directive, client-centered, therapeutic approach that elicits behavioural change by assisting clients identify and resolve ambivalence about attitudes and ideas. MI has been used in a variety of clinical settings and has been applied to various health conditions. MI is effective in reducing maladaptive behaviours such as alcohol abuse, drug addiction, and smoking and in promoting healthy behaviour change such as weight loss, medication adherence, increasing physical activity, and return to work. The applicability of MI across a variety of issues, its brief and specific interactions, and practical use in combination with other active treatment methods has intrigued many health care practitioners and led to explorations of the utility of MI in other areas of health care practice

Short Bio

Joanne Pawluk (PhD, BScOT) has worked as an Occupational Therapist in the area of occupational rehabilitation for over 14 years. Joanne is also a sessional instructor for the Department of Occupational Therapy at the University of Alberta. Joanne’s research primarily focuses on individuals with musculoskeletal conditions and Motivational Interviewing. Her current research involves developing a program theory for Motivational Interviewing in work rehabilitation.

 


In collaboration with

 

Marc P. Morissette, PhD
Research Associate
Pan Am Clinic Foundation

 

Topics in Concussions

Description

An update on the latest research surrounding concussion management, including the role of exercise after injury will be covered by Dr. Morissette. The associations between concussion and risk of diagnosis of psychological and neurological disorders were studied from a retrospective population-based cohort. Concussion is associated with an increased risk for diagnosis of attention-deficit/hyperactivity disorder (ADHD), mood and anxiety disorders (MADs), dementia, and Parkinson’s disease, according to his published study. Other studies were conducted on the evaluation of early submaximal exercise tolerance in adolescents with symptomatic sport-related concussion, and patient-specific alterations in CO2 cerebrovascular responsiveness in acute and sub-acute sports-related concussion. Dr. Morissette will discuss the multi-facets of concussions and exercise.

Short Bio

Recent PhD graduate from the Applied Health Sciences program at the University of Manitoba, Marc P. Morisette's thesis projects included studies on concussion epidemiology and management, with the latter focusing mainly on adolescents. Other interests of his include athletic therapy, exercise physiology, and sport performance. He has also developed a strong desire to work with large datasets to investigate healthcare-related questions. 


In collaboration with

 

 

Dr. Daniel Santa Mina
Assistant Professor, Exercise & Cancer
University of Toronto

 

Prehab, Rehab, and Exercise for People with Cancer

Description

This webinar will provide an overview of recent advances in prehabilitation, rehabilitation, and exercise in oncology. Specifically, this lecture will discuss opportunities for Kinesiologists within oncology health teams to help optimize client and health system outcomes. Attendees will: 1) become familiar with the recent guidelines and recommendations for prehabilitation, rehabilitation, and exercise for people with cancer; 2) be able to identify opportunities for Kinesiologist integration into cancer care and health promotion.

Short Bio

Dr. Daniel Santa Mina is an Assistant Professor at the University of Toronto in the Faculty of Kinesiology and Physical Education and the Faculty of Medicine in the Department of Surgery. Dr. Santa Mina is also a Clinician Investigator at the Toronto General Hospital Research Institute and Scientist in the Department of Anesthesia. Dr. Santa Mina’s research includes the effects of exercise on physiological, functional, and psychosocial wellbeing across the cancer continuum. In particular, his research program focuses on the role of prehabilitation prior to various cancer treatments and implementation of strategies for exercise integration into standard cancer care. Dr. Santa Mina completed his PhD in Kinesiology and Health Sciences at York University and a Post-Doctoral Fellowship in the Department of Surgical Oncology (Division of Urology) at the Princess Margaret Cancer Centre. He is a Registered Kinesiologist (Ontario) and Certified Exercise Physiologist (CSEP) with advanced training in exercise for people with cancer.

 


 A collaboration of

 

Jean-Philippe Chaput, PhD
Research Scientist
CHEO Research Institute
 

The 24-hour movement continuum:
kinesiologists should talk about sleep and sedentary behaviour too!

Description

Sleep, sedentary behaviour, and physical activity are part of the 24-hour movement continuum. When summed together, these three daily behaviours add up to 24 hours. This means that a change in any behaviour inevitably results in a change in at least one of the other two behaviours, and the effects on health are not the same. For example, the benefits of increasing physical activity are not the same if it is done at the expense of sleeping less (bad trade-off) or sitting less (good trade-off). The co-dependency of these three daily behaviours led to a more integrated approach in public health guidelines. During this lecture, the new Canadian 24-Hour Movement Guidelines will be discussed, including implications for Kinesiologists. The overall idea is to recognize that the whole day matters for health and wellness.

Short Bio

Dr. Jean-Philippe Chaput is a Research Scientist with the Healthy Active Living and Obesity Research Group at the CHEO Research Institute and an Associate Professor of Pediatrics at the University of Ottawa. His research focuses on obesity prevention and the adoption of a healthy lifestyle. He is also interested in new determinants of obesity such as lack of sleep and mental stress. Dr. Chaput has published more than 300 peer-reviewed scientific articles, and has contributed to a large number of conferences around the world (>200 lectures). He has received several awards for his research, including the Canadian Society for Exercise Physiology (CSEP) Young Investigator Award in 2016.


In collaboration with

 

 

Stephan Dombrowski, PhD
Assistant Professor
University of New Brunswick

 

The Role of Kins in Obesity Management

Description

The latest guidelines from the Canadian Medical Association regarding obesity management will be reviewed highlighting the role Kinesiologists can play in the treatment and care. Stephan Dombrowki will include his research interests on health behaviour change, behaviour change intervention development, psychological theories of behaviour and behaviour change, and weight loss, and weight loss maintenance.

Short Bio

Dr. Dombrowski is a Health Psychologist. He has joined the Faculty of Kinesiology at the University of New Brunswick in 2018 as an Assistant Professor. Previously, Dr. Dombrowski has been employed by the University of Stirling (UK, Scotland) as a Senior Lecturer, at Newcastle University (UK, England) as a post doctoral researcher, and at the University of Aberdeen (UK, Scotland). Dr. Dombrowski is interested in the development, testing, and application of behaviour change theory and interventions for health, particularly in relation to aspects concerning behaviour change maintenance, and the use of evidence-based behaviour change techniques. His research to date covers a range of health behaviours (e.g. diet, physical activity, health service use) and populations (e.g. general public, individuals with risk factors for health, or health care professionals). In his empirical work, Dr. Dombrowski uses qualitative, quantitative, and mixed methodologies.

 


In collaboration with

Michelle Stone, PhD
Assistant Professor
Dalhousie University

 

Making the Case for Play

Description

Michelle Stone's body of research explores physical activity and sedentary behaviours, using accelerometry, in healthy and chronically ill populations. The topics of interest include: how physical activity and sedentary behaviours relate to physiological and psychological health outcomes; relationships between physical activity, sedentary behaviour and sleep; physical literacy and fundamental movement skills; physical activity, physical literacy and outdoor play interventions in early years settings; physical activity and physical literacy assessment/interventions in chronically ill populations; interventions to promote physical activity and reduce sitting time in schools/the workplace; and the built environment, physical activity and health.

Short Bio

Michelle Stone is an assistant professor at the School of Health and Human Performance in the Faculty of Health at Dalhousie University. She is the author of Let the Children Play: Scoping Review on the Implementation and Use of Loose Parts for Promoting Physical Activity Participation. From Kingston to Saskatchewan for a degree in kinesiology, Dr. Stone pursued her PhD (2009) in children's health and exercise research at the University of Exeter, UK and a postdoctoral fellowship at the University of Toronto in building environment, physical activity, and health research. She now teaches human growth and development, physical activity and health, and a senior seminar in physical activity and chronic disease.

 


In collaboration with

 

 

Travis Saunders, PhD
Associate Professor
University of Prince Edward Island

 

Canada’s 24 Hour Movement Guidelines for Adults and Older Adults

Description

This webinar will review Canada’s newly released 24 Hour Movement Guidelines for Adults and Older Adults.  It will examine the evidence informing the Guidelines, and ways they can benefit Kinesiologists and their clients. Canada is the first country in the world to release 24-Hour Movement Guidelines for Adults and Older Adults.  These Guidelines were funded by the Public Health Agency of Canada, and are the “Food Guide” for physical activity.  Kinesiologists are an ideal group to be using and promoting these Guidelines in their work, and they and their clients will benefit from having an understanding of the Guidelines

Short Bio

Travis Saunders is an Associate Professor in Applied Human Sciences at the University of Prince Edward Island.  His research focuses on the health impact of physical activity and sedentary behaviour across the lifespan.  He served on the leadership team for Canada’s 24 Hour Movement Guidelines for Adults and Older Adults.

 


In collaboration with

 

Dr. Katie Wadden
MS Rehabilitation Researcher
Memorial University

 

Exercise and Fertility

Description

Each year, approximately 10,000 young Canadians are diagnosed with cancer. Without knowing the importance of fertility preservation prior to treatment, many are left with few options for family planning. Involved with Fertile Future, Dr. Wadden helps this national charity that aspires to change this reality. Its mission is to inform, educate, and support cancer patients who are facing fertility-risking medical treatment, and oncology professionals who are providing this care. We will explore the effects of exercise interventions on fertility.

Short Bio

Katie Wadden completed her Bachelor and Masters Degree of Science in Kinesiology. In 2016 she completed a PhD in Rehabilitation Sciences, studying rehabilitation interventions for individuals with neurological diseases at University of British Columbia. The aim of her research was to determine the role working memory plays in implicit motor learning. Her research focused on studying the healthy brain through the use of TMS and brain imaging techniques during motor learning paradigms to further understand the role memory plays during the acquisition of motor skills. She is an ultramarathon runner who has completed numerous 50km and 100km races across North America. The practice of yoga has taught her how to move mindfully in all aspects of life.

Conférenciers

Conférencier principal

Commandité par

Une collaboration de

Bruce Pinel, PhD
Consultant en performance mentale
Dr. Bruce Pinel

 

Perfectionnez-vous pour optimiser votre pratique:
la performance mentale pour la santé et le bien-être

Description

Si vous souhaitez offrir le meilleur de vous-même à vos clients, la mise en œuvre proactive de stratégies d'auto-investissement pour optimiser votre santé et votre bien-être garantira une disponibilité investie. Dans ce webinaire, les participants seront initiés à des concepts et des stratégies spécifiques pour améliorer leur santé et leur bien-être tout en équilibrant les exigences et les défis d'être un praticien prospère.

Conformément au thème de la conférence, cette présentation fournira aux praticiens des concepts et des stratégies pratiques autour de la performance mentale pour la santé et le bien-être. Le modèle du continuum de la santé mentale sera utilisé pour relier les points entre la santé et le bien-être des praticiens et les concepts et stratégies spécifiques présentés dans cette session. Le Dr Pinel élabore et présente du contenu dans ce domaine pour les cliniques de soins de santé, les praticiens et les clients depuis de nombreuses années. Il s'engagera avec les participants de l'ACC et partagera des concepts et des stratégies pragmatiques et pertinents pour favoriser de meilleurs résultats en matière de santé et de bien-être pour eux-mêmes et leurs clients.

Courte Bio

Bruce Pinel, Ph.D., M.A., B.A. (Honneurs). Le Dr Pinel travaille dans les domaines de la performance, de la santé et du bien-être en tant que praticien depuis 2001 et est professeur adjoint à l'Université de Victoria (École des sciences de l'exercice, de l'éducation physique et de la santé). C'est un praticien inspirant, innovant et de premier plan. Il consulte et présente régulièrement dans diverses organisations et conférences dans les domaines des soins de santé et de la performance liés à son expertise en performance, réadaptation des blessures, santé et bien-être, gestion du stress et de l'adversité, leadership d'entreprise et renforcement de la résilience. Le Dr Pinel a également travaillé avec un éventail d'athlètes et d'équipes de niveau mondial lors d'événements internationaux majeurs, notamment les Jeux olympiques, paralympiques, les Jeux panaméricains, les Jeux du Commonwealth et de nombreux championnats du monde (a travaillé avec plus de 450 médaillés à ce jour). Consultez le site Web du Dr Pinel au www.drbrucepinel.ca pour plus d’informations.

 


Une collaboration de

 

Dr. Ryan D’Arcy
Président et directeur scientifique
HealthTech Connex

 

NeuroCatch et fonction cognitive vitale

Description

La plateforme NeuroCatch fournit une évaluation neuro-physiologique objective de la fonction cérébrale cognitive. Il est portable, rapide et facile à utiliser. Développée à partir de plus de 25 ans de science de pointe dans le domaine des signes vitaux du cerveau, la plateforme NeuroCatch est déployée dans les principaux centres cliniques et de recherche pour l'évaluation des fonctions cognitives et le suivi de l'efficacité du traitement.

Courte Bio

Le Dr Ryan C.N. D’Arcy, Ing.L., est neuroscientifique et entrepreneur. Il est le co-fondateur, président et directeur scientifique de HealthTech Connex. Il occupe également des postes de professeur à l'Université Simon Fraser et à l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique, où il occupe la chaire de leadership de la Colombie-Britannique en neuroimagerie et en neurotechnologie. Il a publié plus de 256 ouvrages universitaires, attiré plus de 85 millions de dollars en recherche concurrentielle et financement de l'innovation, et a été reconnu par de nombreux prix et distinctions (p.ex., le Prix d'excellence de la fonction publique du Canada et nommé Canadien KickAss). Le Dr D'Arcy est un conférencier 3X TEDx, qui parle fréquemment des innovations en santé cérébrale dans le monde.

 


Une collaboration de

Joanne Pawluk, PhD, BScOT
Chercheure
University of Alberta

 

Qu'est-ce que l'entrevue motivationnelle?

Description

L'entrevue motivationnelle (IM) est une approche thérapeutique directive fondée sur des données probantes et centrée sur le client qui provoque un changement de comportement en aidant les clients à identifier et à résoudre l'ambivalence concernant les attitudes et les idées. L'IM a été utilisée dans divers contextes cliniques et a été appliquée à diverses conditions de santé. L'IM est efficace pour réduire les comportements inadaptés tels que l'abus d'alcool, la toxicomanie et le tabagisme et pour promouvoir un changement de comportement sain comme la perte de poids, l'observance de la prise des médicaments, l'augmentation de l'activité physique et le retour au travail. L'applicabilité de l'IM à une variété de problèmes, ses interactions brèves et spécifiques et son utilisation pratique en combinaison avec d'autres méthodes de traitement actif ont intrigué de nombreux praticiens de la santé et conduit à des explorations de l'utilité de l'IM dans d'autres domaines de la pratique des soins de santé.

Short Bio

Joanne Pawluk (PhD, BScOT) travaille comme ergothérapeute dans le domaine de la réadaptation professionnelle depuis plus de 14 ans. Joanne est également chargée de cours au Département d'ergothérapie de l'Université de l'Alberta. Les recherches de Joanne se concentrent principalement sur les personnes souffrant de troubles musculo-squelettiques et d’entrevue motivationnelle. Ses recherches actuelles consistent à développer une théorie de programme pour l'entrevue motivationnelle en réadaptation au travail.

 


Une collaboration de

Marc P. Morissette, PhD
Associé de recherche
Fondation de la clinique Pan Am

 

Au sujet de commotions

Description

Le Dr Morissette fera le point sur les dernières recherches concernant la gestion des commotions cérébrales, y compris le rôle de l'exercice après une blessure. Les associations entre commotion cérébrale et risque de diagnostic de troubles psychologiques et neurologiques ont été étudiées à partir d'une cohorte rétrospective basée sur la population. La commotion cérébrale est associée à un risque accru de diagnostic de trouble déficitaire de l'attention / hyperactivité (TDAH), de troubles de l'humeur et d'anxiété (MAD), de démence et de maladie de Parkinson, selon la publication de son étude. D'autres études ont été menées sur l'évaluation de la tolérance sous-maximale à l'exercice précoce chez les adolescents présentant une concussion symptomatique liée au sport et des altérations spécifiques au patient de la réactivité cérébrovasculaire au CO2 dans les commotions cérébrales aiguës et subaiguës liées au sport. Le Dr Morissette discutera des multiples facettes des commotions cérébrales et de l'exercice.

Short Bio

Récemment diplômé du programme de sciences appliquées de la santé de l'Université du Manitoba, les projets de thèse de Marc P. Morisette comprenaient des études sur l'épidémiologie et la gestion des commotions cérébrales, cette dernière se concentrant principalement sur les adolescents. Mes autres intérêts incluent la thérapie sportive, la physiologie de l'exercice et la performance sportive. J'ai également développé un fort désir de travailler avec de grands ensembles de données pour enquêter sur des questions liées à la santé.


Une collaboration de

 

 

Dr. Daniel Santa Mina
Professeur adjoint, Exercice & Cancer
Université de Toronto

 

Préadaptation, réadaptation et exercice pour les personnes atteintes de cancer

Description

Ce webinaire donnera un aperçu des progrès récents en matière de pré-rééducation, de rééducation et d'exercice en oncologie. Plus précisément, cette conférence discutera des possibilités pour les kinésiologues au sein des équipes de santé en oncologie d'aider à optimiser les résultats des clients et du système de santé. Les participants: 1) se familiariseront avec les directives et recommandations récentes pour la pré-rééducation, la réadaptation et l'exercice pour les personnes atteintes de cancer; 2) seront en mesure d'identifier les opportunités d'intégration des kinésiologues dans les soins du cancer et la promotion de la santé.

Courte Bio

Le Dr Daniel Santa Mina est professeur adjoint à l'Université de Toronto à la Faculté de kinésiologie et d'éducation physique et à la Faculté de médecine du Département de chirurgie. Le Dr Santa Mina est également chercheur clinicien au Toronto General Hospital Research Institute et chercheur au Département d'anesthésie. Les recherches du Dr Santa Mina portent sur les effets de l’exercice sur le bien-être physiologique, fonctionnel et psychosocial à travers le continuum du cancer. En particulier, son programme de recherche se concentre sur le rôle de la préadaptation avant divers traitements contre le cancer et des stratégies de mise en œuvre pour l'intégration de l'exercice dans les soins standard du cancer. Le Dr Santa Mina a complété son doctorat en kinésiologie et sciences de la santé à l'Université York et une bourse postdoctorale au Département d'oncologie chirurgicale (Division d'urologie) du Princess Margaret Cancer Center. Il est kinésiologue agréé (Ontario) et physiologiste de l'exercice agréé (SCPE) avec une formation avancée en exercice pour les personnes atteintes de cancer.

 


 

Une collaboration deA collaboration of

Jean-Philippe Chaput, PhD
Chercheur
Institut de recherche CHEO
 

Le continuum du mouvement sur 24 heures:
Les kinésiologues devraient également parler de sommeil et de comportement sédentaire!

Description

Le sommeil, le comportement sédentaire et l'activité physique font partie du continuum de mouvement de 24 heures. Lorsqu'ils sont additionnés, ces trois comportements quotidiens peuvent totaliser jusqu'à 24 heures. Cela signifie qu'un changement de tout comportement entraîne inévitablement un changement dans au moins l'un des deux autres comportements et que les effets sur la santé ne sont pas les mêmes. Par exemple, les bénéfices de l'augmentation de l'activité physique ne sont pas les mêmes si cela se fait au détriment de dormir moins (mauvais compromis) ou de s’asseoir moins (bon compromis). La dépendance de ces trois comportements quotidiens a conduit à une approche plus intégrée dans les lignes directrices de santé publique. Au cours de cette conférence, les nouvelles lignes directrices canadiennes sur les mouvements en 24 heures seront discutées y compris les implications pour les kinésiologues. L'idée générale est de reconnaître que toute la journée est importante pour la santé et le bien-être.

Courte biographie

Le Dr Jean-Philippe Chaput est chercheur scientifique au Groupe de recherche sur la vie active saine et l'obésité à l'Institut de recherche du CHEO et professeur agrégé de pédiatrie à l'Université d'Ottawa. Ses recherches portent sur la prévention de l'obésité et l'adoption d'un mode de vie sain. Il s'intéresse également aux nouveaux déterminants de l'obésité tels que le manque de sommeil et le stress mental. Le Dr Chaput a publié plus de 300 articles scientifiques évalués par des pairs et a contribué à un grand nombre de conférences à travers le monde (> 200 conférences). Il a reçu plusieurs prix pour ses recherches, notamment le prix du jeune chercheur de la Société canadienne de physiologie de l'exercice (SCPE) en 2016.

 


Une collaboration de

 

Stephan Dombrowski, PhD
Professeur adjoint
Université du Nouveau-Brunswick

 

Le rôle de Kins dans la gestion de l'obésité

Description

Les lignes directrices de l'Association médicale canadienne les plus récentes concernant la gestion de l'obésité seront examinées en soulignant le rôle que les kinésiologues peuvent jouer dans le traitement et les soins. Stephan Dombrowki inclura ses intérêts de recherche sur le changement de comportement en matière de santé, le développement d'interventions et les théories psychologiques qui s’y rapportent et la perte et de poids et son maintien.

Courte Bio

Le Dr Dombrowski est psychologue de la santé. Il s'est joint à la Faculté de kinésiologie de l'Université du Nouveau-Brunswick en 2018 à titre de professeur adjoint. Auparavant, le Dr Dombrowski était employé par l'Université de Stirling (Royaume-Uni, Écosse) en tant que maître de conférences et en tant que chercheur postdoctoral à l'Université de Newcastle (Royaume-Uni, Angleterre) et à l'Université d'Aberdeen (Royaume-Uni, Écosse). Le Dr Dombrowski s'intéresse au développement, à l'essai et à l'application de la théorie du changement de comportement et des interventions pour la santé, en particulier en ce qui concerne les aspects concernant le maintien du changement de comportement, et l'utilisation de techniques de changement de comportement fondées sur des données probantes. À ce jour, ses recherches portent sur un éventail de comportements liés à la santé (p. Ex. Régime alimentaire, activité physique, utilisation des services de santé) et de populations (p. Ex. Membres du public, personnes présentant des facteurs de risque pour la santé ou professionnels de la santé). Dans son travail empirique, le Dr Dombrowski utilise des méthodologies qualitatives, quantitatives et mixtes.

 


Une collaboration de

 

Michelle Stone, PhD
Professeur adjoint
Université Dalhousie

 

LE JEU, FAITES EN UN CAS

Description

Le programme de recherche de Michelle Stone explore l'activité physique et les comportements sédentaires à l'aide de l'accéléromètrie dans des populations en bonne santé et souffrant de maladies chroniques. Les sujets d'intérêt comprennent: comment l'activité physique et les comportements sédentaires sont liés aux résultats de santé physiologiques et psychologiques; les relations entre l'activité physique, les comportements sédentaires et le sommeil; littératie physique et habiletés motrices fondamentales; activité physique, littératie physique et interventions de jeux en plein air dans les milieux de la petite enfance; évaluation / interventions de l'activité physique et de la littératie physique dans les populations atteintes de maladies chroniques; interventions pour promouvoir l'activité physique et réduire le temps assis dans les écoles / sur le lieu de travail; environnement bâti, activité physique et santé.

Courte Bio

Michelle Stone est professeure adjointe à l'École de la santé et de la performance humaine, Faculté de la santé, Université Dalhousie. Elle est l'auteure de “Let the Children Play: Scoping Review on theImplementation and Use of Loose Parts for Promoting Physical Activity Participation”. De Kingston jusqu’en Saskatchewan pour un baccalauréat en kinésiologie, Mme Stone a poursuivi son doctorat (2009) en recherche sur la santé des enfants et l'exercice à l'Université d'Exeter au Royaume-Uni et un stage postdoctoral à l'Université de Toronto en recherche sur l'environnement du bâtiment, l'activité physique et la santé. Elle enseigne maintenant la croissance et le développement humain, l'activité physique et la santé et un séminaire senior (activité physique et maladies achroniques).

 


Une collaboration de

 

 

Travis Saunders, PhD
Professeur agrégé
Université de l'Île-du-Prince-Edouard

 

Directives en matière de mouvement sur 24 heures

Description

Ce webinaire passera en revue les nouvelles directives canadiennes sur les mouvements de 24 heures pour les adultes et les personnes âgées. Celui-ci examinera les preuves qui sous-tendent les lignes directrices et les façons dont les kinésiologues et leurs clients peuvent en bénéficier. Le Canada est le premier pays au monde à publier des lignes directrices sur les mouvements de 24 heures pour les adultes et les personnes âgées. Ces lignes directrices ont été financées par l'Agence de la santé publique du Canada et constituent le « Guide alimentaire » pour l'activité physique. Les kinésiologues sont un groupe idéal pour utiliser et promouvoir ces lignes directrices dans leur travail, et ceux-ci et leurs clients bénéficieront d'une compréhension des lignes directrices.

Courte Bio

Travis Saunders est professeur agrégé en sciences humaines appliquées à l'Université de l'Île-du-Prince-Édouard. Ses recherches portent sur l'impact sur la santé de l'activité physique et du comportement sédentaire tout au long de la vie. Il a fait partie de l’équipe de direction des Lignes directrices canadiennes en matière de mouvement sur 24 heures pour les adultes et les personnes âgées.

 


Une collaboration de

Dr Katie Wadden
Chercheur en réadaptation MS
Université Memorial

 

Exercice et fertilité

Description

Chaque année, environ 10 000 jeunes Canadiens reçoivent un diagnostic de cancer. Sans connaître l'importance de la préservation de la fertilité avant le traitement, beaucoup se retrouvent avec peu d'options pour la planification familiale. Impliqué dans Fertile Future, le Dr Wadden aide cet organisme de bienfaisance national qui aspire à changer cette réalité. Sa mission est d'informer, d'éduquer et d'accompagner les patients cancéreux confrontés à des traitements médicaux mettant en danger leur fertilité et les professionnels de l'oncologie qui dispensent ces soins. Nous explorerons les effets des interventions d'exercice sur la fertilité.

Courte Bio

Katie Wadden a obtenu son baccalauréat et sa maîtrise ès sciences en kinésiologie. En 2016, elle a complété un doctorat en sciences de la réadaptation, étudiant les interventions de réadaptation pour les personnes atteintes de maladies neurologiques à l'Université de la Colombie-Britannique. Le but de ses recherches était de déterminer le rôle de la mémoire de travail dans l'apprentissage moteur implicite. Ses recherches se sont concentrées sur l'étude du cerveau sain grâce à l'utilisation de techniques de TMS et d'imagerie cérébrale au cours des paradigmes d'apprentissage moteur pour mieux comprendre le rôle que joue la mémoire lors de l'acquisition des habiletés motrices. Elle est une coureuse d'ultramarathon qui a complété de nombreuses courses de 50 et 100 km à travers l'Amérique du Nord. La pratique du yoga lui a appris à bouger en pleine conscience dans tous les aspects de la vie.