Site de démonstration de la plateforme memboGo avec l'application Site Web

How to Determine if Certain Alternative Therapies are within the Scope of Practice of Kinesiology?

The practice of kinesiology is growing as new treatments, complementary therapies, and alternative therapies are made available. The Canadian Kinesiology Alliance (CKA) and the Provincial Kinesiology Associations (PKAs) wish to assist Kinesiologists when considering the use of new treatments/therapies. This document will provide information for kinesiologists who may recommend or provide complementary therapies, and alternative therapies, in conjunction with their practice of conventional kinesiology, or may have clients seeking or receiving these therapies in addition to conventional kinesiology treatment.

Important: In this document, the words therapies and treatments are used in a general and broad term to mean modalities.

Whenever considering whether an activity, or the use of a particular device, is within the scope or practice of kinesiology, a Kinesiologist should consider whether it:

  1. involves a controlled act or some other legally regulated activity; and
  2. whether it falls within the defined scope of practice of kinesiology
    (i.e. assessment, rehabilitation and management of human movement and performance.)

Kinesiologists should also consider whether they are competent to perform the activity or to employ the device in a safe and effective manner. Remember that Kinesiologists cannot prescribe pills/medications nor can they penetrate beneath the skin (dermis) i.e. implant devices, diabetes testing. Even if certain reserved activities are shared between several professionals, they do not have the same scope for each of them since they must register within the parameters set by their field of practice.

When Kinesiologists are considering using new treatments, complementary therapies and alternative therapies, we suggest that one considers:

  1. What is meant by conventional therapies, complementary therapies or alternative therapies?
  2. What are the expectations for practice?
  3. What are the specific expectations when providing complementary therapies or alternative therapies?
  4. What are the specific expectations of clients requesting or receiving complementary therapies or alternative therapies?
  5. What else must be considered before providing some therapies (e.g. insurance, scope)?

Updated : 2020-05-12

Without prejudice

Disclosure: Currently the practice of kinesiology varies from one province to another. The information in this document may differ and not correspond with the provincial legislation. The main purpose of this document is to present the current portrait of kinesiology (definitions, fields of practice, acts, etc.) across Canada, with information regarding resources in the various fields of kinesiology, practical tools, the extent of its scope of practice and other potentially useful documents. This document is in perpetual revision as per the evolution of the practice of kinesiology in Canada. The CKA / ACK will not be held responsible for any consequences or damages that may occur as a result of the use, misuse, misinterpretation or abuse of the information found on its website. We emphasize that the aim of this document is to help guide you. Should anyone require guidance in interpreting any of the provided information, they should seek the advice of their provincial kinesiology association

This document is based on a similar guideline from the College of Kinesiology of Ontario (CKO) which was based on the College of Physicians and Surgeons of Ontario Policy Statement. The CKA thanks and acknowledges the CKO for sharing information as a resource for the development of this guideline.


  1. What is meant by conventional therapies, complementary therapies and alternative therapies?

In kinesiology, conventional therapies are evidence-based therapeutic interventions, founded on a modern conceptualization of disease/dysfunction and rooted in the scientific principles (physiology, biomechanics, neurology, mobility, anatomy, psychology, sociology, posturology, anthropometry). These therapies, like exercise prescription and functional ability assessment, form the core of kinesiology practice.

Complementary therapies, and alternative therapies, fall within a broad group of therapeutic practices, services, remedies, or devices based on various theories or beliefs, which may or may not be grounded in evidence-based practice and scientific principles. Examples include herbal supplements, and homeopathic remedies.

There may not always be a clear distinction between conventional therapies, complementary therapies and alternative therapies. Moreover, some aspects of complementary therapies and alternative therapies may become incorporated into conventional kinesiology practice over time if scientific evidence, and support for the particular intervention, expands.

  1. What are the expectations for practice?

The following general principles should guide a kinesiologist when recommending, or directly providing, complementary therapies or alternative therapies, and when dealing with a client who requests or is receiving these therapies from another provider.

Act in the Best Interests of the client:  As healthcare professionals, kinesiologists must always act in the best interests of the client. A Kinesiologist’s recommendations and treatment must be focused on the needs, goals, and interests of the client, not on the interests of the Kinesiologist. Kinesiologists must refrain from the exploitation of clients for personal or professional gain.

Respect the Autonomy of Client Choice:  Clients are entitled to set goals and make decisions about their care, including goals and decisions with which the treating Kinesiologist may disagree. Kinesiologists should serve as a trusted resource for healthcare information by providing unbiased, accurate, and clinically appropriate recommendations for treatment to support informed client choice. Kinesiologists should acknowledge the diversity of cultures within a multicultural client population, including indigenous/First Nations cultures, and respect how these differing cultural perspectives may inform client choice. Kinesiologists must always obtain a client’s informed consent prior to initiating treatment.

Avoid or Appropriately Manage Conflicts of Interest : Kinesiologists are expected to avoid or appropriately manage potential conflicts of interest. This is of particular importance when recommending or providing complementary therapies or alternative therapies in which the Kinesiologist may have a personal or financial interest.

Practice within the Limits of Personal Skill, Knowledge and Judgement: Kinesiologists are expected to limit their practice, whether conventional or complementary or alternative, to their individual sphere of competence. Kinesiologists must ensure that they possess adequate skill, knowledge, and judgement to recommend or provide any treatment modality, and should refer clients to other healthcare providers where the required, or requested, treatment would fall outside of this sphere.

Compliance with Governing Laws, Standards and Guidelines: Kinesiologists must comply with all governing laws, standards, and guidelines, both relating to their practice of kinesiology and any other complementary therapy or alternative therapy they may offer. This includes any licensing/registration requirements and professional standards related to other specifically-regulated therapies (e.g. acupuncture). The Kinesiologist is responsible for knowing requirements relating to the Personal Information Protection and Electronic Documents Act (PIPEDA) as well as any other applicable legislation.

  1. What are specific expectations when providing complementary therapies and alternative therapies?

Conventional Assessment First: Prior to recommending or providing a complementary therapy or alternative therapy to a client, a Kinesiologist must first have performed a conventional client assessment and formulated conventional treatment recommendations on the basis of that assessment. The Kinesiologist’s clinical assessment and judgement must be informed by evidence-based practice.

Criteria for Complementary Therapy and Alternative Therapy: Moreover, if a Kinesiologist plans to recommend, or provide, a complementary therapy or alternative therapy to a client, the recommended therapy must satisfy the following criteria:

  • The therapy must be logically related to the client’s condition and treatment goals.
  • The therapy must have a reasonable expectation of improving the client’s condition or helping them to achieve their treatment goals.
  • The overall risks and costs of the therapy must not outweigh its potential benefits, in particular when compared with conventional therapies.

Client Discussion: In discussing treatment options with a client, and when obtaining a client’s informed consent, the Kinesiologist must do the following:

  • The Kinesiologist must provide information about all therapeutic options, including conventional therapies, and never overstate or exaggerate the benefits (or understate or minimize the risks) of a particular therapy.
  • The Kinesiologist must never make a claim about a remedy, treatment, device or procedure other than a claim that can be supported as a reasonable professional opinion.
  • When recommending a complementary therapy or alternative therapy, the Kinesiologist must provide the client with the following information about the therapy:
    • The extent to which the therapy is supported by conventional kinesiology practice and scientific evidence.
    • How the therapy would compare with conventional kinesiology therapies.
    • A reasonable assessment of the expected clinical efficacy of the therapy.

As noted above, a Kinesiologist who plans to recommend, or provide complementary therapies, or alternative therapies must ensure that any potential conflict of interest is avoided or appropriately managed and that they have the requisite skills, knowledge, and judgement to do so safely and effectively.

  1. What are specific expectations for patient requesting or receiving complementary therapies and alternative therapies?

Client Requests: Clients may sometimes request information about, or ask a Kinesiologist to provide, a particular complementary therapy or alternative therapy. Kinesiologists are not expected to be knowledgeable about every complementary therapy or alternative therapy that a client may ask about, nor are Kinesiologists expected to provide a particular therapy simply because it was requested by a client. Kinesiologists are expected to limit their practice to their sphere of competence and to recommend, and provide, treatment in accordance with their professional judgement and the client’s best interests. As much as possible, Kinesiologists should act as a resource for accurate and objective treatment information and should refer clients to another trusted source, such as another regulated healthcare provider, if the Kinesiologist is unable to answer particular questions.

Clients Receiving Therapies Elsewhere: When completing clinical histories for clients, Kinesiologists should ask their clients about other treatments they are receiving, including complementary therapies and alternative therapies. Kinesiologists should record the use of any complementary therapies, or alternative therapies, in a client’s chart and be mindful of any possible interactions or contraindications that these therapies may create with the kinesiology plan of care. Kinesiologists should update a client’s clinical history at regular intervals.

  1. What else must be considered before providing some therapies (e.g. insurance, scope) ?

Let’s look at an example of a treatment modality you may consider using.

Sam is a Kinesiologist and she is interested in using High Intensity Laser Therapy in her clinic for non invasive interventions. She must first decide if there is enough scientific evidence for this treatment modality.  She must research credible sources and journals to reach a decision.  She then must fully understand how to use this modality which may include specific training, or a course, to ensure she is competent in how to use the device including all indications, contraindications, risks, benefits and different uses of lasers.  She would ensure this treatment falls within her scope of practice and she would ensure her clients/clients are informed of all the risks, benefits, alternative options, before obtaining consent.  She must also contact her insurance company to ensure there is adequate coverage for a Kinesiologist using a laser for therapeutic purposes.

From an insurance point of view, Laser therapy is dealt with on a case by case basis. In order to provide Laser therapy, a Kinesiologist must get additional coverage from the CKA National Insurance Program through PROLINK. One must get approval from the insurance provider for a Kinesiologist using a Class 3 laser - (cold laser). There is an additional premium associated with extending coverage to this type of service through CKA PROLINK Insurance. Class 3 and Class 4 lasers can cause eye and skin damage. Kinesiologists will have to prove that they are fully trained/certified and are aware of the safety guidelines (in terms of preventing eye and skin damage) before they will be approved to extend their insurance coverage to this service

Summary

When a Kinesiologist is interested in using new treatments, complementary therapies, alternative therapies, or the use of particular device, they must first consider:

  • whether it involves a controlled act or some other legally regulated activity
  • whether it falls within the defined scope of practice of kinesiology, including if it is evidence-based, and has gone through rigorous scientific studies.
  • whether they hold the necessary competence to be able to perform the activity or to employ the device in a safe and effective manner.
  • whether they hold sufficient insurance coverage specifically for this therapy.

Alternative Therapies reviewed by the CKA

Site de démonstration de la plateforme memboGo avec l'application Site Web

Comment les thérapies alternatives sont-elles liées au champ d'exercice de la kinésiologie?

La pratique de la kinésiologie se développe avec l’arrivée de nouveaux traitements, thérapies complémentaires et alternatives. L'Alliance canadienne de kinésiologie (ACK) et les associations provinciales de kinésiologie (APK) souhaitent aider les kinésiologues à envisager l'utilisation de nouveaux traitements / thérapies. Ce document fournira des informations aux kinésiologues qui désirent recommander ou fournir des thérapies complémentaires / alternatives en conjonction avec leur pratique de la kinésiologie conventionnelle, ou peuvent avoir des clients recherchant ou recevant des thérapies complémentaires / alternatives en plus du traitement de kinésiologie conventionnel.

Chaque fois qu’un kinésiologue s’intéroge à savoir si un traitement, ou une activité ou l'utilisation d'un appareil particulier est dans le champ d'exercice de la kinésiologie, il devrait déterminer:

  1. si cela implique un acte autorisé ou une autre activité légalement réglementée; et
  2. si elle entre dans le champ d'exercice défini de la kinésiologie
    (c.-à-d. l'évaluation du mouvement, la performance (mobilité) et sa réhabilitation ainsi que sa gestion.)

Les kinésiologues devraient également déterminer s'ils possèdent les compétences nécessaires pour pouvoir effectuer l'activité ou pour utiliser l'appareil de manière sécuritaire et efficace.N'oubliez pas que les kinésiologues ne peuvent pas prescrire de pilules / médicaments ni pénétrer sous la peau (derme), c'est-à-dire les implants, les tests de diabète.

Lorsque les kinésiologues envisagent d'utiliser des thérapies nouvelles, complémentaires et alternatives, nous suggérons de considérer:

  1. Qu'entend-on par thérapies conventionnelles ou thérapies complémentaires / alternatives?
  2. Quelles sont les attentes en matière de pratique?
  3. Quelles sont les attentes spécifiques lors de la fourniture de thérapies complémentaires / alternatives?
  4. Quelles sont les attentes spécifiques des patients qui demandent ou reçoivent des thérapies complémentaires / alternatives?
  5. Que faut-il considérer concernant certaines thérapies, à savoir l'assurance, la portée?

 


Sans préjudices                                                                                                                                              Mise à jour: 2020-03-10

Divulgation: Actuellement, l'exercice de la kinésiologie varie d'une province à l'autre. Les informations contenues dans ce document peuvent différer selon la législation provinciale. L’objectif principal de ce document est de présenter le portrait actuel de la kinésiologie (définitions, domaines de pratique, lois, etc.) au Canada, de fournir de l’information sur les ressources dans les divers domaines de la kinésiologie, des outils pratiques, l’étendue de la son champ de pratique et d’autres documents potentiellement utiles. Ce document est en révision perpétuelle en fonction de l'évolution de la pratique de la kinésiologie au Canada. L’ACK / CKA ne sera pas tenu responsable des conséquences ou des dommages pouvant résulter de l'utilisation, de la mauvaise utilisation, de la mauvaise interprétation ou de l'abus de ces informations. Nous soulignons que le but de ce document est de vous guider et d’informer. Si vous avez besoin de conseils pour interpréter les informations fournies, contactez l’association de kinésiologie de votre province.

Ce document est étroitement basé sur une ligne directrice similaire de l'Ordre de kinésiologie de l'Ontario (CKO) qui est basée sur l'Énoncé de politique de l'Ordre des médecins et chirurgiens de l'Ontario. L'ACK remercie et reconnaît le CKO pour le partage d'informations en tant que ressource pour l'élaboration de cette directive.


  1. Qu'entend-on par thérapies conventionnelles ou thérapies complémentaires / alternatives?

En kinésiologie, les thérapies conventionnelles sont des interventions thérapeutiques fondées sur des preuves, fondées sur une conceptualisation moderne de la maladie / du dysfonctionnement et ancrées dans les principes scientifiques de la biologie, de l'anatomie et de la biomécanique. Ces thérapies, comme la prescription d'exercice et l'évaluation des capacités fonctionnelles, forment le cœur de la pratique de la kinésiologie.

Les thérapies complémentaires / alternatives relèvent d'un large groupe de pratiques, services, remèdes ou dispositifs thérapeutiques basés sur diverses théories ou croyances, qui peuvent ou non être fondées sur des pratiques factuelles et des principes scientifiques. Les exemples incluent l'acupuncture, les suppléments à base de plantes et les remèdes homéopathiques.

Il peut ne pas toujours y avoir de distinction claire entre les thérapies conventionnelles et les thérapies complémentaires / alternatives. De plus, certains aspects des thérapies complémentaires / alternatives peuvent être intégrés dans la pratique de la kinésiologie conventionnelle au fil du temps si les preuves scientifiques et le soutien à l'intervention particulière se développent.

  1. Quelles sont les attentes en matière de pratique?

Les principes généraux suivants devraient guider un kinésiologue lorsqu'il recommande ou fournit directement des thérapies complémentaires / alternatives et lorsqu'il traite avec un patient qui demande ou reçoit ces thérapies d'un autre fournisseur.

Agir dans le meilleur intérêt du patient: En tant que professionnels de la santé, les kinésiologues doivent toujours agir dans le meilleur intérêt du patient. Les recommandations et le traitement d’un kinésiologue doivent être axés sur les besoins, les objectifs et les intérêts du patient, et non sur les intérêts du kinésiologue. Les kinésiologues doivent s'abstenir d'exploiter les patients à des fins personnelles ou professionnelles.

Respecter l'autonomie du choix des patients: les patients ont le droit de fixer des objectifs et de prendre des décisions concernant leurs soins, y compris des objectifs et des décisions avec lesquels le kinésiologue traitant peut être en désaccord. Les kinésiologues devraient servir de ressource fiable pour l'information sur les soins de santé en fournissant des recommandations de traitement impartiales, précises et cliniquement appropriées pour soutenir un choix éclairé du patient. Les kinésiologues devraient reconnaître la diversité des cultures au sein d'une population multiculturelle de patients, y compris les cultures autochtones / des Premières nations, et respecter la façon dont ces différentes perspectives culturelles peuvent éclairer le choix des patients. Les kinésiologues doivent toujours obtenir le consentement éclairé du patient avant de commencer le traitement.

Éviter ou gérer adéquatement les conflits d'intérêts: les kinésiologues sont censés éviter ou gérer de manière appropriée les conflits d'intérêts potentiels. Ceci est particulièrement important lors de la recommandation ou de la fourniture de thérapies complémentaires / alternatives dans lesquelles le kinésiologue peut avoir un intérêt personnel ou financier.

Pratiquer dans les limites des compétences personnelles, des connaissances et du jugement: les kinésiologues sont censés limiter leur pratique, conventionnelle ou complémentaire / alternative, à leur sphère de compétence individuelle. Les kinésiologues doivent s'assurer qu'ils possèdent les compétences, les connaissances et le jugement adéquats pour recommander ou fournir toute modalité de traitement et devraient orienter les patients vers d'autres prestataires de soins de santé où le traitement requis ou demandé ne relèverait pas de cette sphère.

Conformité aux lois, normes et lignes directrices applicables: Les kinésiologues doivent se conformer à toutes les lois, normes et lignes directrices applicables, tant en ce qui concerne leur pratique de la kinésiologie que toute autre thérapie complémentaire / alternative qu'ils peuvent offrir. Cela comprend toutes les exigences de licence / d'enregistrement et les normes professionnelles liées à d'autres thérapies spécifiquement réglementées (par exemple l'acupuncture). Le kinésiologue est responsable de connaître les exigences relatives à la Loi sur la protection des renseignements personnels et les documents électroniques (LPRPDE) ainsi qu'à toute autre loi applicable.

  1. Quelles sont les attentes spécifiques lors de la fourniture de thérapies complémentaires / alternatives?

Évaluation conventionnelle d'abord: Avant de recommander ou de fournir une thérapie complémentaire / alternative à un patient, un kinésiologue doit d'abord avoir effectué une évaluation conventionnelle du patient et formulé des recommandations de traitement conventionnelles sur la base de cette évaluation. L'évaluation clinique et le jugement du kinésiologue doivent être fondés sur une pratique fondée sur des preuves.

Critères de thérapie complémentaire / alternative: De plus, si un kinésiologue prévoit de recommander ou de fournir une thérapie complémentaire / alternative à un patient, la thérapie recommandée doit satisfaire aux critères suivants:

  • La thérapie doit être logiquement liée à l’état du patient et aux objectifs de traitement.
  • La thérapie doit avoir une attente raisonnable d’améliorer l’état du patient ou de l’aider à atteindre ses objectifs de traitement.
  • Les risques et les coûts globaux de la thérapie ne doivent pas l'emporter sur ses avantages potentiels, en particulier par rapport aux thérapies conventionnelles.

Discussion avec le patient: En discutant des options de traitement avec un patient et en obtenant le consentement éclairé du patient, le kinésiologue doit faire ce qui suit:

  • Le kinésiologue doit fournir des informations précises et objectives sur toutes les options thérapeutiques, y compris les thérapies conventionnelles, et ne jamais exagérer ou exagérer les avantages (ou minimiser ou minimiser les risques) d'une thérapie particulière.
  • Le kinésiologue ne doit jamais faire de réclamation concernant un remède, un traitement, un appareil ou une procédure autre qu'une réclamation pouvant être étayée par une opinion professionnelle raisonnable.
  • Lorsqu'il recommande une thérapie complémentaire / alternative, le kinésiologue doit fournir au patient les informations suivantes sur la thérapie:
    • La mesure dans laquelle la thérapie est appuyée par la pratique conventionnelle de la kinésiologie et les preuves scientifiques.
    • Comment la thérapie se comparerait-elle aux thérapies conventionnelles de kinésiologie.
    • Une évaluation raisonnable de l'efficacité clinique attendue de la thérapie.

Comme indiqué ci-dessus, un kinésiologue qui prévoit de recommander ou de fournir des thérapies complémentaires / alternatives doit s'assurer que tout conflit d'intérêt potentiel est évité ou géré de manière appropriée et qu'il possède les compétences, les connaissances et le jugement nécessaires pour le faire de manière sûre et efficace.

  1. Quelles sont les attentes spécifiques des patients qui demandent ou reçoivent des thérapies complémentaires / alternatives?

Demandes des patients: Les patients peuvent parfois demander des informations ou demander à un kinésiologue de fournir une thérapie complémentaire / alternative particulière. On ne s'attend pas à ce que les kinésiologues connaissent toutes les thérapies complémentaires / alternatives qu'un patient peut demander, et les kinésiologues ne sont pas censés fournir une thérapie particulière simplement parce qu'elle a été demandée par un patient. Les kinésiologues sont censés limiter leur pratique à leur domaine de compétence et recommander et fournir un traitement conforme à leur jugement professionnel et à l’intérêt supérieur du patient. Dans la mesure du possible, les kinésiologues devraient servir de ressource pour des informations précises et objectives sur le traitement et devraient référer les patients à une autre source de confiance, comme un autre fournisseur de soins de santé réglementé, si le kinésiologue n'est pas en mesure de répondre à des questions particulières.

Patients recevant des thérapies ailleurs: Lorsqu'ils complètent les antécédents cliniques des patients, les kinésiologues devraient interroger leurs patients sur les autres traitements qu'ils reçoivent, y compris les thérapies complémentaires / alternatives. Les kinésiologues devraient consigner toutes les thérapies complémentaires / alternatives dans le dossier du patient et tenir compte de toutes les interactions ou contre-indications possibles que ces thérapies peuvent créer avec le plan de soins de kinésiologie du patient. Les kinésiologues devraient tenir à jour régulièrement les antécédents cliniques des patients conformément aux normes de tenue des dossiers.

  1. Ce qui doit être pris en considération concernant certaines thérapies, à savoir l'assurance, la portée?

Voyons un exemple de modalité de traitement que vous pourriez envisager d'utiliser;

Sam est kinésiologue et elle souhaite utiliser la thérapie au laser à haute intensité dans sa clinique. Elle doit d'abord décider s'il existe suffisamment de preuves scientifiques sur cette modalité de traitement. Elle doit rechercher des sources et des revues crédibles pour prendre une décision. Elle doit ensuite bien comprendre comment utiliser cette modalité qui peut inclure une formation spécifique ou un cours pour s'assurer qu'elle est compétente dans la façon d'utiliser l'appareil, y compris toutes les indications, contre-indications, risques, avantages et différentes utilisations des lasers. Elle veillerait à ce que ce traitement relève de son champ de pratique et elle veillerait à ce que ses clients soient informés de tous les risques, avantages, options alternatives, avant d'obtenir le consentement. Une étape supplémentaire serait prise ici et c'est de contacter sa compagnie d'assurance pour s'assurer qu'il y a une couverture adéquate pour une kinésiologue utilisant un laser à des fins thérapeutiques.

Du point de vue de l'assurance, la thérapie au laser en général est traitée au cas par cas, une kinésiologue doit obtenir une couverture supplémentaire du programme d'assurance nationale de l'ACK via PROLINK. Il faut obtenir l'approbation de l'assurance pour un membre qui utilisait un laser de classe 3 - (laser froid). Il y a une prime supplémentaire associée à l'extension de la couverture à ce type de service par le biais du programme. Les lasers de classe 3 et de classe 4 peuvent endommager les yeux et la peau. Les kinésiologues devront prouver qu'ils sont pleinement formés / certifiés et connaissent les consignes de sécurité en matière de prévention des lésions oculaires et cutanées pour étendre leur couverture d'assurance à ce service.

Résumé

Les kinésiologues intéressés à utiliser de nouveaux traitements, des thérapies complémentaires et alternatives, chaque fois qu'ils envisagent si un traitement, une activité ou l'utilisation d'un appareil particulier entre dans le champ de pratique de la kinésiologie, ils devraient déterminer si cela implique un acte réservé ou une autre activité légalement réglementée; et si elle entre dans le champ d'exercice défini de la kinésiologie, y compris si elle est fondée sur des preuves et a fait l'objet d'études scientifiques rigoureuses. Les kinésiologues devraient également déterminer s'ils détiennent les compétences nécessaires pour pouvoir effectuer l'activité ou pour utiliser l'appareil de manière sécuritaire et efficace et que vous détenez une couverture d'assurance suffisante spécifiquement pour cette thérapie.